# Heath Township Meeting Minutes January 2021

#### 1. Call to order

The regular monthly meeting of the Heath Township Board was called to order by Supervisor Ron Jones at 7:00 p.m. on January 11, 2021 via teleconference call. Ron opened with prayer.

## 2. Roll call

Supervisor Ron Jones, Clerk Missy Harvey, Treasurer Misti Lindholm, Trustee Hilda Boerman, Trustee Bill Harvey.

## 3. Approval of minutes from last meeting

Previous months minutes were approved.

## 4. Reports

Jim Storey, County Commissioner gave his monthly report:

- Reported on Covid numbers in Allegan County and testing and future vaccine possibilities
- Reported on the construction to the Allegan County building
- Reported on live streaming for Allegan County proceedings
- Reported on broadband update for Allegan County
- Reported on rehabilitating building in Allegan for Mental Health

Dave Haverdink gave yearly budget report for Hamilton Fire Department:

- Reported on Annual Report for 2020
- Reported on Covid vaccine for Allegan County and the affects that might have not only on the Fire Dept. but also the budget
- Reported on the Fire Department changing their Fiscal year to match the Fiscal year of Heath Township so he presented both a 6 month and 12 month budget
- Reported on pay schedules for all 3 Townships for budgets years
- Reported on Assessing the Fire Barn/Township portion for Insurance costs
- Reported on updates to Interlocal Agreement

#### 5. New business

a) Approve the wage increase for the Fire Department as presented by Dave in the budget. Motion made by Boerman and supported by B.Harvey to accept increase. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey- yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

b) Approve the 6 month budget from 1/1/2021-6/30/2021 and 12 month budget from 7/1/2021-6/30/2022 as presented by Dave. Motion made by B.Havey and supported by Boerman to accept both budgets as presented. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

c) Accept the Capital request for 2021 for Fire Department. Motion made by Boerman supported by Lindholm to accept request as presented. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Linholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

d) Approve new street light on corner of 134

<sup>th</sup> Ave. and 38<sup>th</sup> St. Resolution to change agreement must be signed and \$100 to Consumers Energy to start project. Motion made by Boerman an supported by B.Harvey to approve this new light. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

e). Appoint Ken Westenbroek to Board of Review to serve a 3 year term ending 1/31/2024. Motion to accept appointment by Boerman and supported by B.Harvey. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

f) Reappoint Planning Commission board members Don Wickstra and Hilda Boerman to serve 3 year term ending 1/31/2024. Motion to accept reappointed members by Lindholm and supported by M.Harvey. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, B.Harvey – yes. Boerman abstained from voting.

g) Approve Poverty Exemptions changes from the state. Motion by Boerman and supported by Misti to approve changes to resolution. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

h) Accept yearly agreement with Hamilton Community Schools to continue to collect school tax for the school at \$2.97 per parcel. Motion by M.Harvey supported by Boerman to accept yearly agreement with Hamilton School. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

## 6. Zoning update

a) The ZBA will have their annual meeting this month. Planning Commission will plan to meet again in February.

#### 7. Bills

a) Motion by Boerman supported by B.Harvey to pay township bills. Roll call vote: Jones – yes, M.Harvey – yes, Lindholm – yes, Boerman – yes, B.Harvey – yes.

#### 8. Adjournment

a) Motion by B.Harvey supported by Lindholm and unanimously supported to adjourn the meeting at 7:44.

Minutes submitted by Clerk Missy Harvey.